In which I pretend I’m Juliette Binoche in the Movie Chocolat and make a chocolate cake.

  
Autumn, the mist rolling in over the mountains and creeping through cracks, the first scents if woodsmoke drifting in the air and the sounds of anger emitting from our house as I discover moths have inhabited my neck scarfs. 

To match this idyllic moment, comfort food is very much on the cards. Don your apron, roll up your sleeves, dust off the kitchen bench and prepare to make this amazingly easy flourless chocolate cake I can personally guarantee while consuming a delectably rich piece of heaven, (who am I kidding, I’m eating the whole cake) your outlook on life will be one of peace and tranquility.  
Now comes the moment I escape to France and find Jonny Depp, eat copious amounts of Chocolate and get Judi Dench involved. Basically my life is the Chocolat movie.     

While you appreciate the incredible smell of your cake baking, let me tell you a little on how the modest chocolate cake came into play. This guy called Dr James Baker was chilling out in 1764 and started grinding coca beans together with millstones. Hence coca powder. (I’m so glad this guy had time on his hands). About 80 years later another guy decided to manufacture it and suddenly us humble plebs could consume it in vast quantities….and here, dear folks was the beginning of what we call ‘orgasmic’.

  

My Simply Amazing Flourless Chocolate Cake

Ingredients 

  • 1 tsp instant Coffee Powder
  • 1/4 Boiling Water
  • 200g Butter Chopped 
  • 180g Dark Chocolate Chopped 
  • 2 tbl of coca powder sifted 
  • 4 eggs separated 
  • 1 cup castor sugar 
  • 2 cups almond meal
  • Dried Rose Petals for decoration 

Method

Preheat oven to 180°C/160°C fan-forced. Grease a 6cm-deep, 22cm round (base) spring-form cake pan. Line base and side with baking paper.

Place coffee powder and boiling water in a heatproof jug. Stir to dissolve. Place butter, chocolate, cocoa powder and coffee mixture in a medium saucepan over low heat. Cook, stirring constantly, for 2 to 3 minutes or until melted and combined. Remove from heat. Transfer to a bowl to cool slightly.

Using an electric mixer, beat egg yolks and sugar for 5 minutes or until thick. Set aside. Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites until soft peaks form.

Add chocolate mixture and almond meal to egg yolk mixture. Stir to combine. Using a large metal spoon, gently fold half the egg whites into chocolate mixture. Repeat with remaining egg whites. Pour into prepared pan. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until a skewer inserted in centre comes out with moist crumbs clinging. Cool cake completely in pan. I dusted my cake with icing sugar and topped with dried rose petals.

Enjoy my friends, I shall be browsing the web to obtain a new neck scarf. 

My next blog will take us to ‘Heaven on earth’ also known as Tasmania.

PK (esq.)
Ps- don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @thewanderinggastronomist

3 thoughts on “In which I pretend I’m Juliette Binoche in the Movie Chocolat and make a chocolate cake.

Leave a Reply

