In which Tonga Happens & I discover the beach life is for me – Part 2

The Blowholes on the east coast of Tonga.
The Blowholes on the east coast of Tonga

“Oh darling, I don’t drink.”

“This is not a drink dear, it’s a cocktail.”

-All About Eve (1950)

As I am writing this I am sitting on the beach front listening to the local men play and sing.

This strange and incredibly beautiful tune has almost reduced me to tears. The voices blending in unison creating this angelic sound, the bass so rich in depth, alto creating the perfect accompaniment and finally the tenor so clear it’s a refreshing as the earth after a rainstorm. This haunting melody so simplicity in harmony yet so intrinsically complicated at the same time. Something brought through generations and hundreds of years, so steeped in tradition, the compadre so achingly beautiful.  If I could do one thing right now, it would be letting you dear readers listen to it.

Another sunset in paradise
Another sunset in paradise

Tonight is the island celebration, the locals putting on a BBQ of food cooked in the earth with the Tongan dancing to follow.

As the tables fill up and we wait for the rest of our party to join us, The Man With The Amazing Eyes and I sit back to take in the atmosphere.

The breeze gently capturing the palm fronds and bringing the smell of the sea to us accompanied by the sheer happiness of the locals, laughter filling up every corner of the pavilion, the smell of roasting meat.

Beach combing treasures
Beach combing treasures

Today was tough, between choosing whether to snorkel, have a massage or kayak, then meeting up with my wonderful friends on the beach to watch the sunset while playing cards and having cocktails…..and so wraps up another day in paradise.

Captured moments exploring the island
Captured moments exploring the island

Thank you for reading guys, my next blog will be trying to cope with being home and possibly baking.

Paul esq.

Ps- don’t forget to follow me on Instagram! @thewanderinggastronomist

5 thoughts on “In which Tonga Happens & I discover the beach life is for me – Part 2

  1. Have you run into Jonah from Tonga yet? He’s one of Joe’s favourite characters & I really dig him too. See if you can get a photo of him with that Amazing Eyes chap. Now that would be a keepsake!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

